Our history, our actions

« Elles bougent » history begins in 2005, when two industrial companies decide to communicate their engineer women recruitment need to Marie-Sophie PAWLAK, formerly Director of External Relations of an engineering school and furthermore, comes from an engineering education herself.

To attract more young girls in these sectors, the idea is to organize meetings with engineer women. The organization mission is clear; “Elles bougent” was formalized in 2006.

In short order, several industrial companies in lack of scientific female talents join the adventure. First, in the transportation sector (Airbus, PSA, Dassault Aviation, SNCF…), then in many other sectors (energy, digital, construction…).

Engineering schools also mobilize and several Ministries provide sponsorship to the organization (Industry since 2006, before National Education, Higher Education and Research, Labor Ministry and Ministry of Women's Rights).

From the start, « Elles bougent » first major events drawn attention, with for example the invitation of 100 young ladies to many events like (Paris Auto Show, Paris Air Show and Eco Mobility Rally)

For these events, more than 200 actions are pursued everywhere in France, thanks to Elles bougent delegations, that were created in 2012 in many regions and since 2016 in Spain.

Generate vocations thanks to experience sharing

Job fairs, industrial sites visits, challenge, rallies, conferences, interventions in secondary and high schools… Whatever form it may, “Elles bougent” put meetings between its female mentors and young girls at the heart of its events. For this to happen, the organization gathers almost 3000 female mentors everywhere in France.

The goal?

  • Promote exciting scientific and technical professions to schoolgirls and female students
  • Demonstrate that these professions (with a predominantly male occupation) are accessible to women
  • Allow them to identify and project themselves into engineer women experience sharing
  • Generate vocations!

Notre histoire, nos actions

C'est en 2005 que commence l'histoire d'Elles bougent, lorsque deux groupes industriels expriment leur besoin de recruter davantage de femmes ingénieures à Marie-Sophie PAWLAK, alors directrice des relations extérieures d'une école d'ingénieurs, et elle-même ingénieure de formation.

Pour attirer plus de jeunes filles vers ces métiers qu'elles méconnaissent souvent, l'idée qui s'impose est de leur faire rencontrer des femmes ingénieures. La mission de l'association est trouvée, Elles bougent nait officiellement en 2006.

Très vite, de nombreux groupes industriels et entreprises en manque de talents scientifiques féminins rejoignent l'aventure. D'abord dans le secteur des transports (Airbus, PSA, Dassault Aviation, SNCF…), puis dans les secteurs de l'énergie, du numérique, du bâtiment, etc.

Les écoles d'ingénieurs se mobilisent également et plusieurs ministères accordent leur parrainage à l'association (celui de l'Industrie dès 2006, avant ceux de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche, du Travail, et enfin du Droit des femmes).

Les premiers grands évènements Elles bougent marquent les esprits dès le départ, avec par exemple l'invitation de 100 jeunes filles au Mondial de l'Automobile et au Salon du Bourget, ainsi que le Rallye de l'Ecomobilité.

Depuis, ce sont plus de 200 actions en tout genre qui sont menées chaque année partout en France, grâce notamment aux délégations Elles bougent, lancées depuis 2012 dans plusieurs régions et depuis 2016 en Espagne.

Susciter des vocations grâce au témoignage

Forums, visites de sites et de salons spécialisés, challenges, rallyes, conférences, interventions dans les collèges et lycées... Peu importe la forme qu'ils prennent, Elles bougent place la rencontre entre ses marraines et les jeunes filles d'aujourd'hui au cœur de tous ses évènements. Elle regroupe pour cela près de 3000 marraines partout en France.

L'objectif ?

  • Faire découvrir aux collégiennes, lycéennes et étudiantes les passionnants métiers d'ingénieur.e.s et de technicien.ne.s
  • Prouver que ces métiers (dits plutôt "masculins") sont accessibles aux filles
  • Permettre aux adolescentes de s'identifier et de se projeter à travers les témoignages d'ingénieures, techniciennes et étudiantes
  • Susciter des vocations !

En savoir plus sur les grands rendez-vous Elles bougent